Buddhist Basics

These are the basics of Buddhism as viewed and practiced at IPBC:

  • We take refuge in the Three Jewels
    • The Buddha
    • The Dharma
    • The Sangha
  • We recognize the principles of the Four Noble Truths:
    • Life has an inherent element of dissatisfaction.
    • This dissatisfaction is caused by attachment to craving.
    • Dissatisfaction ends when attachment to craving ceases.
    • The way to do this is by practicing the Noble Eightfold Path.
  • And the skillfulness of the Noble Eightfold Path:

1. Wise View
2. Wise Intention
3. Wise Speech
4. Wise Action
5. Wise Livelihood
6. Wise Effort
7. Wise Mindfulness
8. Wise Concentration

  • We aspire to observe the Five Precepts:
    1. I undertake to honor life, not killing or causing to be killed.
    2. I undertake not to take anything that is not freely given.
    3. I undertake to speak the truth in ways that are supportive and skillful.
    4. I undertake not to use sex in ways that harm myself or others.
    5. I undertake not to use intoxicants to the point of heedlessness.
  • We endeavor to practice the Six Paramitas:
    • Generosity
    • Ethics
    • Patience
    • Enthusiastic effort
    • Concentration
    • Wisdom

What is a bodhisattva?
Literally, bodhi (perfect knowledge, awakened) + sattva (being, essence) = awakened being. Early schools of Buddhism, and even the Buddha himself, used the word bodhisattva to refer to the Buddha as a young man or to any being who is "bound for enlightenment." Later schools (Mahayana) refined the definition to mean a person who is able to reach enlightenment but delays doing so out of compassion in order to remain in the world to save suffering beings.

At IPBC, we aspire to wake up and go out into the world for the welfare of all, without exception.